Watches I Have Been Wearing Till Now

This article is in collaboration with SEIKO.
I’ve worn a watch every single day of my life for the previous 2 decades.

06LCface1.jpg

The previous decade has found an interesting change of my curiosity about watches. When I first discovered Swiss watches it all happened. I can’t clarify why I ended up owning a couple of them. I believe it’s a mixture of peer pressure, love of the design and nicely just thinking that they’re the sort of watch I aspire to have at that age or should have.

You will find times when it only doesn’t fit your style. When you’re wearing a work shirt or a suit whether it’s. It simply doesn’t seem great.

As the years passed though, owning them became less and less fun. For starters they started to miss minutes. That’s appropriate. MISS MINUTES. For all the craftsmanship that these luxury watches were known for, they weren’t precise.

s5a3pq1rzxn3ha9gpjp9.jpg

On different occasions when this happened they would be brought by me to the store and ask what’s wrong. The comments I had was that it’s not uncommon for them to miss some minutes every now and then but it’ll be better once I send it for servicing.

How much you might ask would servicing cost? Well… depending on the watch but anyplace from RM500-RM8,000. That’s insane!

I began wearing a different type of watch after I realised these luxury watches had become a burden instead of an asset to me,. The kind of watch that would never miss a minute.

I needed a watch that was well made, wouldn’t miss a tick, looks as good as any luxury watch and affordable.

Kintaro Hattori.

Kintaro went on to make the first wristwatch in Japan and his watches were understood to be so accurate that in 1929 it was appointed as Japan National Railway’s “Official Railway Watch”. I’m guessing because time was kept by it extremely well and we all understand how timely all Japanese trains are.

Seiko-Quartz-Astron-Ariel-Adams.JPG

Over the next few decades SEIKO would grow to innovate the watch. You understand the battery operated ones that many of us wear around our wrists now.

I just want to write about things or brands that I believe in and I’ve an excellent impression of Seiko. Recall this article I wrote a year ago that got over 80,000 shares.

I see Seiko quite positively because it’s a watch maker with lots of heritage. It was founded in 1881 by this guy.

In 1973 they devised the world’s first 6-digit LCD display watch.

And for one in 1998, of the more crazy thoughts the World’s First watch powered by the body heat was released by Seiko. I kid you not. Body heat!

Now, a 135 years since SEIKO was founded, this really is the watch I now have. SEIKO Model No: SSA319J1

In the beautiful SEIKO Premier Selection. It has band and a stainless steel case, Sapphire crystal glass and automatic winding. It’s additionally 10 bar water resistant and contains a see through case- back and a 24 hour indicator.

I love it. I believe it fills the gap between having something that is affordable and dependable and yet seems amazing to wear with a suit.

index_ph14.jpg

The one thing I asked SEIKO in addition to them giving this watch to me was whether they could give one to my subscribers also.

YES I KNOW… MAD RIGHT?!

Leave a Reply

